Contact Us
                       Firestone Center phone numbers:  2787 - 0208 or 2787 - 0173

(from USA:  011-506 - 2787- 0208 or  011-506-2787-0173)

Physical adrress: Barú, Dominical, Del Mini Super Barú, 1 kilomtetro al Oeste Sobre la carretera a Dominical.

 

Michael Ballagh is Assistant Vice president for International Programs at Pitzer College, and is the primary point of contact for prospective users of the Firestone Center and Reserve.  email: michael_ballagh@pitzer.edu

 

Professor Donald A. McFarlane teaches Tropical Ecology. His interests lie in tropical mammalogy, and quantitative assessment of biodiversity.
email: dmcfarlane@jsd.claremont.edu

 

 

 

 

Adjunct Professor Cheryl Baduini teaches Tropical Ecology in the Semester-Abroad program. Her interests lie in ornithology, marine ecology. and freshwater invertebrate biodiversity.
email: cbaduini@jsd.claremont.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Professor Paul Faulstich teaches Human Ecology in the Semester-Abroad program. His interests lie in human perceptions of nature and especially indigenous rock-art
email: paul_faulstich@pitzer.edu

 

 

 

Associate Professor Melinda Herrold-Menzies teaches Human Ecology in the Semester-Abroad program. Her interests lie in the dynamics of community conservation initiatives.
email: melinda_herrold-menzies@pitzer.edu

 

 

 

  Alvaro Redondo Brenes is a tropical ecologist with interests in restoration ecology and forest fragmentation.

email: alvaro.redondo@yale.edu

 

 

 

Katie Associate Professor Katie Purves-Roberts teaches environmental chemistry. her interests at the FCRE lie in water and soil chemistry.

email: kpurves@jsd.claremont.edu

 

Agroecologist Juan Araya has interests in the human dimensions of agriculture in the areas surrounding the FCRE.

email: juan_araya@pomona.edu

 

 

Warren Roberts is the Geographic Information Systems specialist for the Claremont Colleges. His interests lie in spatial analysis and the integrative potential of GIS in undergraduate education.

 

 

 

 

Keith Christenson is a wildlife biologist and photographer who is extensively involved with FCRE research and education.

Last Updated: Friday June 17 2011